ROCCAT's Kone XTD and Kone Pure in Practice

The software for ROCCAT's Kone mice is almost frighteningly complete and even daunting to use, but how do the mice handle once configuration is done and you're ready to go? Do you even have to configure them to get mileage out of them in the first place?

As it turns out, not really. I found that the default settings for the mice were surprisingly good. The default sensitivity setting of 800 dpi is definitely sluggish, but the next step up at 1600 dpi is just about perfect. I'll never be a twitch gamer but it's nice to know there's an almost comedic amount of headroom beyond 1600 dpi. Users are liable to be confused by the back button being used for "Easy-Shift" instead, but that's a minor grievance.

In Productivity

As day to day mice, the Kone XTD and Kone Pure are both very comfortable and easy to use. While peripherals are undoubtedly very subjective, I found that the grips of both mice fit my hands securely, and that the buttons actuated with the right amount of force and in the right places. Contrast this with Thermaltake's Level 10 M, which for all its adjustability still demanded a larger paw and a different grip. I've heard other people absolutely enamored by the Level 10 M, by the way, so if you enjoyed the grip of that mouse the Kone may feel a bit small or may not suit your mousing style.

The slightly smaller body of the Kone Pure did prove to be a little problematic, though. While the overall grip feels slightly better due to the lack of glossy stripes, the the Pure is lower to the mouse pad, and I found my pinky routinely brushing the pad. I have fairly small hands to begin with, so I wonder if the Pure might not be just a touch too small for some users. The XTD, on the other hand, fit perfectly.

In Gaming

There isn't much to say as far as gaming is concerned. I fired up F3AR (which I still consider to be grossly underrated) for a test drive and found the default 1600 dpi sensitivity to be ever so slightly too high, but still well within the realm of playability and easy enough to adjust to. The reality is that with the way different games handle any mouse you're probably going to have to make some adjustments, though the spectrum isn't quite as wide as it used to be.

ROCCAT's Kone Software Conclusion: Fantastic Mice, But Expensive
POST A COMMENT

50 Comments

View All Comments

  • augiem - Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - link

    This review feels like its more of a general user opinion of the mouse rather than a review. I didn't read anything about the mouse buttons. Are they responsive? How's the tactile feedback? Do you accidentally press them when resting on them? Do they have a loud and annoying click like most of the mice out there. I want to know this stuff for front and side buttons. How about the mouse wheel? How stiff is it? Does it have very strong notching that fights you, is it too loose and not accurate enough, does it feel tightly set into the body without any extra play or jiggle side to side, does the click-in require excessive force which could tire out your middle figer during a long Maya session? How about glide feet? Does it glide easily on a hard mouse pad, cloth mouse pad, desktop surface? Does it have tracking issues on any surface type tested? Are they replaceable? How much? Any special treatment of the mouse cable? How do different users with different grips feel about it? Claw grip, palm grip, etc.

    Overall, I expected a lot more information from a mouse review than how it feels comfortable and "perfect".
    Reply
  • augiem - Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - link

    I'd also like to see some stress testing if possible. Longevity and durability are something that's very hard to judge when it comes to all new products. I had a MS Intellimouse Optical that I used for like 12 years before it started having trouble. That was a good buy indeed! Reply
  • jigglywiggly - Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - link

    to jp
    the mx518 mouse blows

    my LG in quake live was noticibly worse

    the 125hz polling rate, and the grip are yuck

    feet are bad too, and I had the original 5 feet.

    much better mice now
    Reply
  • DaveSimmons - Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - link

    I probably just missed it in the article, but can this be changed"

    >> "Users are liable to be confused by the back button being used for "Easy-Shift" instead, but that's a minor grievance."

    The thumb-button is the one I most want to use in games, besides the left and right. I want it to be a button, not a shift applied to other buttons.
    Reply
  • shaolin95 - Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - link

    I held to my MX518 for a long time and the replacements I tried never stayed home for long.
    Then I got the Kone XTD and I was blown away!
    I totally love the mouse.

    About the settings...you need to upgrade it and the changes are instant. I did it and I can tell it works so it was a firmware upgrade needed, nothing else.

    I even got the Alumic pad for it and love the features where it "calibrates" to your gaming surface. Not sure how much that really does but it feels good :D
    Reply
  • birru - Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - link

    For the people who have issues with this article, you guys do realize this is a capsule review, right? It's not going to get very or granular or technical. Is your opinion that AnandTech should stick to more thorough reviews and skip the lower calorie capsule reviews entirely?

    Personally, I find the review handy enough, but then I'm not going to nerd out over every technical detail of a mouse. I trust that if the polling rate was truly atrocious to the point of being subjectively noticeable Dustin would have mentioned it. That said, I am surprised that he didn't even reprint the manufacturer's specs, as that covers a lot of these details. That would hardly have taken much extra effort.
    Reply
  • BrightCandle - Thursday, February 28, 2013 - link

    The review has no contents, its not a review its a user opinion piece on irrelevant details.

    There is no value in these reviews, it tells me nothing about the mouse, I can't buy on the basis of this review and others like it. Arguably that is the point of a review, to inform the user on good v bad v best products and to inform purchase. This review fails to do that other than telling me the price, but not what I get for it. Its worthless. I would rather not have seen it at all.
    Reply
  • sheh - Thursday, February 28, 2013 - link

    Why are mice so expensive? You'd think 2ndary players would fight on price, but they don't really do that. A mouse has just a bit of electronics, and whether the plastic mold is this or that shouldn't matter much. There are a few extras that cost most to produce, but $40-50 for a good mouse seems overpriced. Half the price makes more sense to me.

    Below are some random Chinese mice on eBay for $4-9. Anyone thinks Logitechs cost 10 times more to produce?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/360604948297
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/281040167343
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/400402499608

    And, why aren't wide scroll wheels common?
    http://www.game-debate.com/mouse/mo_pic.php?mo_id=...

    I have a plain A4Tech mouse with a wide wheel, and it makes it so much more useful as a button. It's also more comfortable to rest the finger on in general.
    Reply
  • HisDivineOrder - Thursday, February 28, 2013 - link

    ...because I paid $55 for my Razer Naga. Not the silly green or red ones, not the Hex crap, either.

    The regular, blue, original classic. The great one.

    So close to $100, I'd want my mouse to be a lot more supreme than this...
    Reply
  • theangryintern - Thursday, February 28, 2013 - link

    Since they are both the same price, which one would be better? The ROCCAT XTD or the Mionix 8200? Reply

Log in

Don't have an account? Sign up now